The following features in the Edit Course Settings are listed in order of their appearance. Scroll down or click on the links in the table of contents.
- Course Full Name
- Course Short Name
- Course Category
- Course start date
- Course end date (enable)
- Course ID number
Files and uploads
Course Full Name
The name given your Moodle course matches the name listed on the Registrar’s list.
Course Short Name
This name cannot be changed. It is used to identify the course when we upload students from Banner into Moodle.
When your course it set up, it is placed in the semester it is taught. Once the semester grades are in, we back the course up and move it to the content area category.
This option allows you to hide your course from student view.
The start date defaults to the beginning of the semester. The start date and end dates are used to place the course in the Dashboard categories.
The End date determines where the course will appear in the Dashboard – In Progress, Future, and Past.
Course ID Number
We assign this number when we create the course. It includes the year, semester number, and Moodle course number.
The course summary and course summary files have been changed with the upgrade to Moodle 3.5. The summary now appears on the Dashboard under the icon of the Moodle course. At this point, Moodle only shows two or three lines of the course summary.
Course files now allows the upload of an image that will appear in the Moodle Dashboard. Upload a relevant image and have it appear in the student dashboard.
Course Format defaults to 10 Topic Blocks. There are other options available in designing your course. Other options include Collapsed Topics and Weekly format. Click here to learn more about optional course formats.
Number of sections
The default number of Topic sections is 10. The limit is 52. The number can be increased from this setting in Edit Course Settings, or on the Home Page of your course there is a + and – sign at the end of the topics. Click the + sign to add a topic section. Click – to delete one. Note: If a section with activities or resources is deleted, the contents will remain on the page in an ORPHANED section. The contents WILL NOT be visible to the students. To reclaim the section, simply click on the + sign and the section will return with its contents intact.
This option determines whether hidden sections are shown to students in collapsed form. Both examples of what the students sees are shown below.
When the hidden sections are shown in collapsed form, the student sees this:
When the option “Hidden sections are completely invisible, this is what the student sees (Note: the words, topic 2 is not available are missing from this option):
The default setting displays the course sections all on one page.
Moodle can offer the course page in other languages. Currently the choices are limited to Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
Number of announcements
Moodle uses a discussion forum as a method of creating announcements for your students. Students can unsubscribe to these announcements. We recommend using Quickmail instead.
Show gradebook to students
The gradebook defaults to visible. To hide the entire gradebook, turn this setting to No. Individual entries in the gradebook can be hidden from view by accessing the entry via the module in which it was created, or if created in the gradebook, hide it using edit settings to the right of the item.
Show activity reports
This tool allows you to view student activities. For example, you can check forum postings by student. It also logs when students have accessed your Moodle course. If the setting is turned on, students can view their own activity reports from their profile pages.
File Size Upload
This option allows completion conditions to be set in Activities. Conditions can be enabled that place criteria on assignments before they can move on to another assignment.
Groups are used whenever two or more sections of a course are taught. However, Groups are a great way to split assignments and forums into smaller units in your classroom. Click here to learn more about groups.
This setting has three options:
- No groups – there are no sub groups
- Separate groups – Each group member can only see the group in which they belong.
- Visible groups – Each group member can only work in their own group but can see others in the other group (s).
Force group mode
When activated, all views will be by group. All activities will be by group. This will override any activities that have special group setting.
Default grouping – this feature is inactive in Moodle
This allows you to rename the roles that appear in your Moodle course. Otherwise the default roles are activated. The default names for the roles in Moodle most relevant for you are Teacher, Nonediting teacher, student. These names can be changed at the course level by inserting your preferences in the space provided under Role renaming.